Knitting

Lace Socks

My second pair of these socks — I wore the first pair right through!

Lace SocksIt took me a bit to get into the rhythm of this pattern, but once I did, they knit up quickly. I love lace knitting for socks. Something about it is so appealing to me, and they’re so pretty.

I’m not one for knitting two socks at once, bottom-up knitting or any of these alternatives to a turned heel (why?), give me the traditional top down, turned heel sock every time.

Okay, I’m sure there are good reasons for the alternative heels, but the traditional way works — the socks stay up and they look good. So I’m sticking with the tried-and-true. For now, anyway. The only reasons anyone has given me for doing it any differently is they can’t figure out how to turn the heel, and I say, just dive in and do it. Don’t try to figure it out beforehand because it doesn’t make sense if you’re not familiar with the technique. It just doesn’t.

If you’ve tried an alternative and found it works, I’d love to hear about it.

As for knitting two pair at once, I haven’t attempted it because it has no appeal to me. With one exception, I’ve never had the problem of knitting up one sock only to leave the other one undone. I’m pretty good at finishing up my projects (which is saying something for me since I’m a much better starter than finisher in many areas of my life).

This pattern comes from Around the World in Knitted Socks by Stephanie Van Der Linden, published by Interweave Press, 2008 (Germany) and 2010 (North America). It’s the Scent of Lavender pattern. I’ve knit several pairs of socks from this book and every one has been beautiful. The only pattern I had problems with was Feminine Lace. The sock was beautiful, but the pattern was a pain in the neck, and I only finished one sock (as mentioned earlier). In fact, this was the subject of an earlier post.

 

Background Image Credit: © GraphicStock.com
I'd love to hear from you!

