Knitting

Cotton Tank Top

I recently went through my stash and pulled out a variety of sport and DK weight cotton yarns that I was able to use to make this cotton tank top for my cousin’s daughter. I hope to give it to her next week, although I may need to re-do the neck. It’s a little tight.

Jaeger JB25 Handknits coverThe pattern I used was “Tizzy” from Jaeger Handknits JB25. It’s the cover pattern you can see here and uses primarily DK weight yarn, but I was able to get away with one sport weight in the pattern. That’s obviously a case-by-case thing, since the gauge on any given yarn can vary depending on needle size and some yarns have more flexibility with that sort of thing than others.

I’ve made this pattern before and it’s adorable on. I’d model this one for you, but it’s too small for me. The one I made for myself has long since gone to sweater heaven, as cotton sweaters are so easily prone to do. Wool sweaters tend to live a lot longer!

tank topAnyway, this is a great go-to sweater; it can be dressed up or down and worn in all but the hottest days of summer. With these colors it may have to be put away in the fall, but you see a lot of pastels worn in the winter, and if she wants to, my cousin’s daughter could wear this as a vest in the colder months.

I’m not sure if this pattern is still in print, but a good, basic tank top pattern like this should be easy to find. I’d recommend something with sleeves like this, that look like the armhole openings for a fitted sleeve, for a more tailored look.

Note that this main pattern uses a wide rib — I believe it’s 6 x 2 — and a stripe design. Those are elements that could easily be factored into a basic tank top pattern. You just need to do a little math to make the repeats for the rib accurate. In this case, a 6 x 2 rib, so the number of stitches in the widest part of the sweater could be a multiple of 8+ 6. You’d knit 6, purl 2, to the end, then end knit 6.

The waistband ribbing is a 2 x2 rib (k2, p2). If the number of stitches for the main pattern is not a multiple of 4, you can always k2, p2 to the end, then end with k2. Frankly, I like doing it that way, it can make seaming cleaner.

 

Background: © GraphicStock.com
I'd love to hear from you!

