Knitting

Lace Shawl

shawl II
More rows of what is a sort of mock-cable will continue to the right of this piece.

Sadly, I’ve gotten little knitting done lately, and what I’ve started has more often than not ended up frogged. I finally landed on a project I think I’ll finish, this shawl from the latest issue of Vogue Knitting.

I don’t typically wear shawls, and these aren’t colors I normally would choose, so how did I get here? I originally picked out this yarn for a top, and deliberately chose colors different from what was already in my wardrobe. When I started to knit it up, the yarn was all wrong.

I’d seen this shawl pattern and really liked the lace pattern, so I thought I’d give it a try. You can’t see the lace pattern very clearly with the variegated yarn, so the final result may or may not work for me.

But I’m committed to it at this point. If I liked the yarn better, I might be seeking yet another pattern. But for now, I’m willing to take a chance with what I’ve started.

The pattern, by the way, is the Greystone Harbor Shawl from the Spring/Summer 2016 issue of Vogue Knitting. I’ll be posting the final result once it’s finished!

 

2 thoughts on “Lace Shawl”

    1. Thank you! This is a fun pattern, and I’m hoping once the piece is bigger the variegated yarn won’t obscure the lace pattern. In “real life” you do see more of the lace design. Either way I think it will be pretty.

      Like

I'd love to hear from you!

