Knitting

Noro Hat

Still plugging along with the lace shawl, as well as a project I’ve been working on for my mom for some time…I needed a quick fix, so I whipped up this hat using (mostly) Noro Kureyon wool a friend had given me a few months ago. The ribbing is leftover Rowan Pure Wool Superwash from the Watch Cap I made my brother back in April (which I never heard back from him about…so I’m not sure how it went over…).

Noro HatI also did two rows in ribbing in Brown Sheep Lamb’s Pride in a dark green and one row in some leftover worsted weight wool of an unknown brand in what turned out to be too bright of a red. I duplicate-stitched with leftover Noro on the knit stitches on the outside of the cap; you can still see the red peek through. If I don’t tell anyone it was a mistake, they’ll assume it’s a design element, right?

I followed the same watch cap pattern (Classic World War II Watch Cap pattern, by Helen Waittes) which is available for free on Ravelry.com. However, I modified it some in this manner: while I cast on 112 st, I only did the 2×2 rib for 2″, then did the 6×2 rib for 7″. I then decreased keeping the rib pattern. This is a large size cap, which is the size my family members tend to need.

A note about this Kureyon wool: my friend gave me what amounted to about 1 1/2 skeins of the yarn, and I have no idea how old it is, or what condition it might be in. In fact, I’m holding on to this hat for a little bit in case the yarn is moth eaten. I don’t think it is, but that’s always the risk you take with donated yarn. I believe she likely took good care of her yarn and stuff, but she told me she hadn’t been knitting in years, and we all know how priorities can shift.

This whole thing took me one long evening to finish, but the satisfaction of finishing something was well worth the time I didn’t spend on my other projects.

 

3 thoughts on “Noro Hat”

I'd love to hear from you!

