Knitting

Design Ideas

The owner of my local yarn store asked me to come up with some design ideas for a cowl. She’s interested in making a kit for some yarn that a local woman spins and dyes, particularly for a color she’s making exclusively for “our” shop.

Loralee, the store owner, showed me some ideas she liked, and based on that, I came up with two designs. Since she’s out of town until the end of the month, and I’m anxious to get some feedback on my design ideas, I thought I’d put them out here for feedback.

The bright colors in the first sample come from some variegated yarn by Lorna’s Laces. Their variegated yarns have nice, short blocks of color, so the colors repeat frequently, which I like for this pattern. It’s hard to see in this picture, but I also have a dropped stitch every fourth stitch in every other row, which (almost) makes for a stranded/fair isle effect.

Remember, these are just samples. The “real thing” would be knit in the round, with the pattern repeated all the way around.

The cable pattern on the red sample is a little difficult to see, but it’s a dropped stitch cable, which resulted in some holes after the twist. When I used a heavier gauge yarn, it had a much tighter result. I really liked the overall result with that yarn, but since I was using whatever I had leftover in my stash, I didn’t have enough of it to do a proper swatch.

Cowl Sample 3

So what do you think? Do you have a favorite? I’d love to hear your comments!!

2 thoughts on “Design Ideas”

I'd love to hear from you!

